This Can’t Be Just Love

Emotions, such as love, are just hormones in compliance
But when I look in your eyes this can’t be mere science
Chemicals speed up my pulse in an empirically based way
But the magic that you possess, data can’t explain away
Analysis and observation leads me to zero percent results
Unable to explain how you make my feelings convulse
I’m chasing all the data and evidence that you demonstrate
They twist in the centrifuge of my brain as I wait and calculate
I’m experimenting with love and you are my test subject
But the many permutations of your love are difficult to detect

Neurobiological impulses, dopamine and noradrenaline
The science of my feelings for you I know in every detail
Still, this can’t be just science because I know deep down within
That the way I feel is just as magical as the love in every fairy tale.
Originally Written on October 4, 2016

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑